Ravichandran Ashwin Became The Fastest Indian Bowler To 450 Test Wickets

Ravichandran Ashwin (born 17 September 1986) is an Indian international cricketer who plays for the Indian cricket team as a bowling All-rounder who bats right-handed and bowls right-arm off-break, he plays for Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket and Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League. He is considered as the best test All-Rounder of this era. Ashwin is widely regarded to be the greatest spinner of his generation. He is the fastest Indian bowler (also in some records the joint-fastest in the world) to reach the 50-, 100-, 150-, 200-, 250-, 300-, 350-,400- and 450- wicket mark in Test cricket in terms of number of innings. In 2016, he became the third Indian to win the ICC Cricketer of the Year award. He is currently the highest-ranked spinner in Test cricket, and the highest-ranked Test bowler for India on the ICC Player Rankings. He has won nine Man of the Series awards in Test cricket, which is the highest by an Indian cricketer. He has 5 test centuries with a highest score of 124.

The off-spinner has gone past 450 wickets in Test matches during the first Test between India and Australia on day-1 at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on Thursday.

The 36-year-old picked up the wicket of Australian wicket-keeper batter Alexy Carey to reach the milestone. Ashwin is now the second-highest wicket-taker in the history of Indian cricket behind legendary leg-spinner Anil Kumble.

However, the magician achieved the feat in 89 test matches second fastest to the number behind the Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan who completed the feat in just 80 Test matches.

After picking up Carey Ashwin who looked rusty in the morning session got into his rhythm and picked up Australian skipper Pat Cummins for six runs and the final wicket of the innings Scott Boland.

Australia is bowled out for 177. After a decent first session in the morning, Australia lost their way in the afternoon. At the tea break, the visitors were reduced to 174-8. Lost the remaining two wickets in no time after the tea break.

Marnus Labuschange 49(123) and Steve Smith 37(107) who looked comfortable in the morning were dismissed by left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja in the post-lunch session.

Jadeja has been the pick of the Indian bowling with five wickets. Ashwin chipped in with three wickets. Siraj and Shami picked up one wicket a piece. India in the driver's seat and will look to get a huge first innings lead.

Earlier in the day Cummins won the toss and elected to bat first. Todd Murphy made his debut for Australia. For India KS Bharath and Suryakumar Yadav received their first test caps.

2005 The last instance of Australia being bundled out for less than 200 in the first innings of a Test series - 190 all out against England at Lord's. The last time Australia were bowled out for a total lower than the 177 in the first innings of a Test series was 118 all out in 1997 against England in Birmingham.


You must be logged in to post a comment.