Top 10 largest unrecognized states

1.  The Republic of China (year of origin 1911)

The Republic of China, or Taiwan, is an example of how everything can be lost. Previously it controlled the entire territory of modern China, but after the revolution in 1947 the country not only lost the entire mainland, but also lost its place in the United Nations and the recognition of most of the members of the organization. Now the Republic of China is recognized by only 22 states from the UN list.

2. Free Kashmir (year of origin 1947)

Free Kashmir (Azad Kashmir) became "Free" after it expelled the ruler Maharaja Hari Singh and seceded from India. The irony of the situation was given by the views of the ruler himself, who just wanted to separate the state from India, and not allow the province to be seized by Pakistan. As a result, Pakistan is the only one to recognize Free Kashmir. In short, it was what you wanted, but without you.

3.  Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (year of origin 1976)

The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic or SADR is one of the most "recognized" (59 UN member states) unrecognized states in the world. The state's problem is different: its closest neighbor, Morocco, categorically disagrees. Most of the SADR territory is de facto controlled by Morocco, while a smaller part is a mixture of buffer zones, restricted zones and restricted areas.

4. the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (year of origin 1983)

1983 is not only famous for being the birth year of Alina Kabaeva. The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus was also born that year - as a result of an armed attack by Turkey. As a result, the newborn country was recognized only by Turkey, and the situation remains the same today.

5.  Palestine (year of birth 1988)

Well, everyone knows about Palestine. This state has managed to assert itself. First of all, it holds Israel firmly in tension, and secondly it has been recognized by 137 UN member states. True, this has not deprived Palestine of internal problems. At the moment, the territory is divided into two parts, run by different factions, and the internal problems are plenty.

6.  The Transnistrian Moldovan Republic (year of origin: 1990)

Transnistria is a case where someone made a move in time. It was one of the first "former" territories, which understood that it is not necessary to go with the rest. But in fact, everything is not so "sugar-coated" here. The DMR's state status is recognized by Abkhazia, South Ossetia and Nagorno-Karabakh, themselves countries with very disputed status. Although the DMR has long wanted to join Russia, the latter has not done so.

7.  Somaliland (year of origin 1991).

Somaliland is 5 of the 18 states of Somalia and is home to about a third of the country's population. The history of the newly formed state is sad. Despite the fact that 99% of the population voted to secede from Somalia in 2003, no state has yet recognized Somaliland as an independent state.

8.  South Ossetia and the Republic of Abkhazia (year of origin 1992 and 1994)

Why did we combine these two entities into one number? Yes, because they are both pieces of Georgia (well, at least Georgia thinks so). Nevertheless, a number of states, like the Republic of Vanuatu and Nicaragua, led by the Russian Federation, recognize them. And of course they both recognize each other.

9.  The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (year of origin 1991)

Nagorno-Karabakh is such a mix of borders, controlled territories and interests of other countries that it is very difficult to make sense of it all. However, this did not prevent three countries: the DMR, the Republic of South Ossetia and the Republic of Abkhazia from recognizing the country. True, they themselves are unrecognized, so this did not help the status of Nagorno-Karabakh.

10.  The Republic of Kosovo (year of origin 2008)

The Republic of Kosovo after the declaration of independence in 2008 has been recognized by 110 UN member states, as well as many unrecognized states. But this "piece" turned out to be too big, and the northern part of Kosovo with its Serbian population does not recognize the Republic. In addition, Serbia, whose territory the Republic of Kosovo has encroached upon, is categorically opposed.


You must be logged in to post a comment.